Get into the life of J-Bru.

A LITTLE RUN DOWN ON BRU

Big Up to The 411 for taking the time to reach out.

 



THE 411 INTIATIVE FOR CHANGE

What’s your ethnic background?

My mom is White and my dad is Black.
Hometown

Halifax, NS

What inspires you?

Life, music, everything. I am also inspired by fans who are touched by my music!

What would you be doing if it wasn’t music?

I have worked as a sports writer in the past so I’d probably still be doing that.

How did your environment shape you?

My life experiences have shaped who I have become. I am one of a small percentage of hip hop artists who will be truthful about my past and put my talk about things that really happened to me in my songs.

What do you want to be remembered for?

I like to speak truth. So, I’d like to be remembered as an MC who was more about the words I spoke rather than my flow or delivery.

Tell us something about you that no one knows?

I am a dog lover to the fullest. When I am done rapping I’d like to open a business that has to do with dogs in some way.

What social cause is most important to you?

I’d have to say cancer. I have lost so many family members to cancer. It is a major deal on my dad’s side of the family and it scares me.

Recommended CDs

Dr Dre – Chronic 2001

Snoop Dogg – Doggystyle

Biggie – Ready to Die

Styles P – Time is Money

Jay Z – Reasonable Doubt

A Tribe Called Quest – The Low End Theory

Many more but these are my faves

High school flash back

I remember getting my first batch of recruiting letters for basketball. U of Ottawa seemed the most interested so I ended up playing for them. I can still remember the feeling I got reading those letters, it’s unexplainable.

What does it mean to be Canadian?

Nice people who would do anything to please people. We Canadians as a whole bring smiles to others, it’s what we do.
What’s your favourite colour?

Blue

What’s your definition of Canadian culture?

The old saying of being a melting pot we used to hear about so much in school. It is actually true. People from around the world come to our country to live a better life and that’s what Canada provides.

 

Leave a Reply

